Featured Subscribe to RSS Feed

RIP John Spanier

Published: Aug 30th, 2016

With sadness, we note the passing away of John Spanier. Spanier was an active member of the Department for almost 40 years, 1957-1996. Many of us have had the privilege… Read More

Richard Scher and Ken Wald Retire

Published: May 19th, 2016

Two pillars of the Department, Professors Kenneth Wald and Richard Scher, are retiring this month. Ken and Richard have been members of the department for 33 and 44 years respectively,… Read More

Congratulations, Ph.D. Class of 2016!

Published: May 5th, 2016

Congratulations to newly-minted PhDs (from Left) Drs. Kevin Funk, Mitch Sellers, Nail Tanrioven, Audrey Flemming, and Scott Feinstein. Also in the picture, Prof. Ido Oren (center) and Ben Smith. Not… Read More

Congratulations, Class of 2016!

Published: May 5th, 2016

Congratulations to the 194 political science majors graduating in Spring 2016! Three political science professors participated in the commencement ceremony on May 2, 2016. From left: Patricia Woods, Ido Oren,… Read More

Pat’s Retirement

Published: Apr 3rd, 2016

Friday, April 1, 2016 was Pat Root’s last day in the Department’s office. Since joining the department in January 2010, Pat has worked—most reliably, efficiently, and capably—under three chairs, four… Read More

Congrats, graduates!

Published: Dec 25th, 2015

Congratulations to our newly-minted PhDs!!! From left: Prof. Dan O’Neill, Dr. Jonathon Whooley, Dr. Lorna Bracewell, Dr. Amy Stringer, Prof. Laura Sjoberg, Prof. Michael Martinez, Dr. Roger Austin, Prof. Dan… Read More

Holiday Luncheon

Published: Dec 14th, 2015

The Department held its annual holiday potluck luncheon on December 14. Attendance was high and everyone was in a festive mood. A big thank you to Sue Lawless-Yanchisin for organizing… Read More

Information Cafe

Published: Nov 23rd, 2015

Twenty political science majors and prospective majors attended the third Political Science Information Cafe, held November 9 in Emerson Alumni Hall. Participating faculty and other resource persons chatted with students in… Read More

Congrats, Class of 2015!

Published: Aug 18th, 2015

Congratulations Drs. (from left) Mauro Caraccioli, Jadon Marianetti, and Manu Samnotra! Congratulations also to three freshly-minted PhDs not in the picture: Vincent Adejumo, Nic Knowlton, and Rachel Yon!

2015 Best Honors Thesis Award Winner

Published: Aug 18th, 2015

Congratulations to Jacquelyn Johnson, winner of the 2015 Best Honors Thesis Award! Jacquelyn’s thesis, “The Politics of National Accounts: Debt and Deficit in the European Union,” was supervised by Prof.… Read More