Pat’s Retirement

Friday, April 1, 2016 was Pat Root’s last day in the Department’s office. Since joining the department in January 2010, Pat has worked—most reliably, efficiently, and capably—under three chairs, four associate chairs, and three undergraduate coordinators. We have all come to depend on Pat in so many ways, from entering and changing grades, through scheduling courses and classrooms, to managing office space, handling effort and activities reporting, making sure we get paid correctly every two weeks, and much, much, more. We will miss her greatly! All best wishes, Pat, for a peaceful, happy, and healthy retirement!

Congrats, graduates!

Congratulations to our newly-minted PhDs!!! From left: Prof. Dan O’Neill, Dr. Jonathon Whooley, Dr. Lorna Bracewell, Dr. Amy Stringer, Prof. Laura Sjoberg, Prof. Michael Martinez, Dr. Roger Austin, Prof. Dan Smith, Dr. Diana Forster. Missing from the picture: Dr. Nic Knowlton.

Holiday Luncheon

The Department held its annual holiday potluck luncheon on December 14. Attendance was high and everyone was in a festive mood. A big thank you to Sue Lawless-Yanchisin for organizing the event. Happy holidays to all!

Information Cafe

Twenty political science majors and prospective majors attended the third Political Science Information Cafe, held November 9 in Emerson Alumni Hall. Participating faculty and other resource persons chatted with students in an informal setting about topics such as finding work in Washington, certificate programs, graduate studies, internships, and the Mock Trial program.

Congrats, Class of 2015!

Congratulations Drs. (from left) Mauro Caraccioli, Jadon Marianetti, and Manu Samnotra! Congratulations also to three freshly-minted PhDs not in the picture: Vincent Adejumo, Nic Knowlton, and Rachel Yon!

2015 Best Honors Thesis Award Winner

Congratulations to Jacquelyn Johnson, winner of the 2015 Best Honors Thesis Award! Jacquelyn’s thesis, “The Politics of National Accounts: Debt and Deficit in the European Union,” was supervised by Prof. Aida Hozic. The thesis explored the under-reporting of national debt and deficit data by members of the EU. The analysis showed that the reporting requirements imposed by the EU’s fiscal framework, which were supposed to prevent wide discrepancies in data reporting, actually combined with domestic political factors to incentivize the manipulation of national accounts. Jacquelyn is bound for Bologna, Italy, where she will be attending the Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS). Good luck, Jacquelyn!

Congrats, Class of 2015!

Congratulations to the 216 political science majors who graduated in Spring 2015! Four political science professors participated in the commencement ceremony on May 3, 2015. From left: Ido Oren, Suzanne Robbins, Sharon Austin, and Stephen Craig.

Lunch with the Chair!

On April 28, 2015, six graduating seniors majoring in political science had an informal lunch with the Department Chair, Ido Oren, the Associate Chair, Bryon Moraski, and the Internship Coordinator, Dan Smith. The students shared with us reflections about their experience in the political science undergraduate program as well as their future plans. From Left: Alexandra (Sasha) Chopenko, Brittany Doyle, Brianna Williams, Oren, Moraski, Chris Norris, Jose Castaneda, Igal Rojzman. Photo by Dan Smith.

Annual Spring Banquet

The Department held its annual Spring Banquet on March 24, 2015, at the Sweetwater Branch Inn. Some 70 people attended, including faculty members, spouses, associate deans, and supporters. Our distinguished guest speaker was Dr. Steven Heydemann, Vice President for Applied Research on Conflict at the US Institute of Peace. The following awards were presented:

  • Best undergraduate student paper award: Daniel Milstein
  • Best graduate student paper award: Dong-Joon Jung
  • The Douglas Price Award: Kevin Baron
  • Best graduate student teacher award: Ioannis Ziogas
  • James Button Award: Mitch Sellers
  • Barbara Roth Award: Kokila Mendis
  • The Campbell Leadership Award: Joel Mendelson
  • The Ralph Gonzalez Independent Spirit Award: Ansley Tuten
  • Professor of the Year Award: Richard Scher

Congratulations to all the award winners!

Congratulations, Dr. Ramón Galiñanes!

Congratulations Dr. Ramon Galinanes! Ramon’s dissertation was supervised by Professor Philip Williams (right).