

Political Science Supervisory Committee

The following committee is:	□ New	□ Chai	nged			
Student Name:						
UF ID#:						
Major:		Minor:				
Degree Sought: \Box MA (\Box Thesis \Box Non-Thesis)		🗌 PhD				
Anticipated Graduation Date: Fall Spring Summer						
	2024	2025	2026	2027	2028	

	Signature	Name	Dept
Chair			
Co-Chair (not			
required)			
Member			
Member			
Member			
External			
Member			

Political Science Supervisory Committee Guidelines

The appointment of your Supervisory Committee is very important. Your Supervisory Committee Chair will be your principal faculty advisor, and other faculty members of the Supervisory Committee will also act as advisors in their fields of expertise. The Committee also advises the Graduate Coordinator on your academic progress, and the Committee conducts the final M.A. examination or defense, the PhD dissertation prospectus defense, and the final Ph.D. dissertation defense.

In selecting a Supervisory Committee, it is usually advisable to speak with your prospective Supervisory Chair first. That person will be helpful in suggesting other members of your Supervisory Committee. The chair of a student's supervisory committee may ask for permission for a professor with special qualifications not holding Graduate Faculty status (including adjunct faculty) to serve on a student's committee.

The Supervisory Committee must be established no later than the semester prior to an MA thesis defense, an MA final examination (in lieu of a thesis), or a PhD field qualifying examination. The Supervisory Committee can be changed up until the semester that you expect to graduate. If a change in the Supervisory Committee must be made in the semester in which you expect to graduate, a written explanation of the necessity should be attached.

All faculty who are being added to or removed from a Supervisory Committee must be informed. If a proposed change in the Supervisory Committee follows a failed comprehensive examination or defense, the proposal must be accompanied by a letter stating no objection from any faculty member who is being removed from the Committee.

M.A. Supervisory Committees

M.A. students must have a Supervisory Chair, who is a faculty member in Political Science and is also a member of the Graduate Faculty. M.A. Supervisory Committees must have at least two other members of the Supervisory Committee, at least one of whom must be in Political Science. If a minor field outside of Political Science is designated, the Supervisory Committee must include a member of the Graduate Faculty from that field. Supervisory Committees for Political Campaigning have four faculty members, including one member who teaches a practical course.

Ph.D. Supervisory Committees

Ph.D. Supervisory Committees include (1) A Supervisory Chair, who is a Graduate Faculty member in Political Science, (2 and 3) two other Graduate Faculty members from Political Science, and (4) an external member (who is a member of the UF Graduate Faculty but is not in the Department of Political Science). At the option of the student and the Supervisory Chair, the Supervisory Committee may include additional members of the UF Graduate Faculty, either from within the Political Science Department or from other UF Departments or Centers.

UF faculty who are not members of the Graduate Faculty and faculty from outside UF may be appointed as Special Members, with the approval of the Supervisory Chair, Graduate Coordinator, and Graduate School. Special Members do not fill the required positions listed above. Thus, they are considered additional members.

Graduate Faculty

The privileges regarding the level of involvement of graduate faculty in supervising students are determined by the dean of the college and/or department chair in consultation with the faculty members and in accordance with criteria established by that unit. Tenured and tenure-track faculty in Departments that grant graduate degrees are generally appointed to the Graduate Faculty shortly after their arrival at UF. Lecturers may be granted Graduate Faculty Status by vote of the Graduate Faculty in the Department and the approval of the Dean of the Graduate School.