Congratulations, Dr. Ramón Galiñanes!

Congratulations Dr. Ramon Galinanes! Ramon’s dissertation was supervised by Professor Philip Williams (right).


Congratulations Drs. Stuart Strome and Tristan Vellinga! Stu’s dissertation was supervised by Prof. Leann Brown and Tristan’s by Prof. Amie Kreppel.


Congrats, Dr. Huder!

Joshua C. Huder, Ph.D., has represented the department in Washington, D.C. for the last two years and we are proud to announce his recent graduation. Josh left Gainesville after accepting a prestigious American Political Science Association Congressional Fellowship where he worked on legislative procedure, financial services, voting rights, campaign finance, trade, small business, and other issues. He joined the Government Affairs Institute as a Senior Fellow in 2013 after his year as an APSA Congressional Fellow.

His time at GAI given him the opportunity to teach courses on American government, advanced legislative process, and other introductory politics courses, as well as provide political analysis to several news outlets, including the Washington Post, the Washington Examiner, CNN, Al-Jazeera, and other outlets such as the London School of Economics and Cronkite News.

And even though he has enough to keep him busy and make his home department proud, Josh is currently writing a book on the history of congressional procedure and politics since 1879! Follow him on Twitter (@joshHuder) for quality commentary on all things Congress!
(Pictured above with wife, Nancy, and daughter, Ady).


Thank you, Dietmar!

In the past four years, we were truly fortunate to have Dietmar Schirmer as our DAAD (German Government) Visiting Associate Professor. Dietmar became an integral part of the department, took an active part in the department’s life, and contributed to our mission in many ways, in and out of the classroom.

Spring Banquet at Sweetwater Branch Inn

The Department held it annual Spring Banquet on April 8, 2014, at the Sweetwater Branch Inn. More than 70 people attended, including faculty members, spouses, the dean, and supporters. Our distinguished guest speaker was Professor Samuel Popkin from the University of California, San Diego.

The following awards were presented:

Best undergraduate student paper award: James Tenenbaum

Best graduate student paper award: Mitch Seller

The Douglas Price Award: Mitch Sellers

Best graduate student teacher award: Manu Samnotra

James Button Award: Rolda Darlington

Barbara Roth Award: Andres Vergara

The Campbell Leadership Award: Kenton Ngo

The Ralph Gonzalez Independent Spirit Award: Daniel Dean

Professor of the Year Award: David Hedge

Congratulations to all the award winners!

Congrats, Bryce, on your best paper award!

Bryce Freeman, a dual Political Science and Economics graduating senior, was one of three undergraduate students to win the University Scholars Program’s university-wide Best Paper contest. His paper, “Purging Participation? The Impact of Targeting “Potential Non-Citizens” on Voter Turnout,” was written under the direction of Faculty Mentor Dan Smith.

Congrats, Dr. Hicks!

Will Hicks successfully defended his Ph.D. dissertation, Representation in the American States: Partisan Competition and its Conflicting Effects on Representative Government, on March 14, 2014. Will’s doctoral committee is comprised of Larry Dodd and Dan Smith (co-chairs), Michael Martinez, Beth Rosenson, and Larry Kenny (Economics).

His dissertation, “Representation in the American States: Partisan Competition and Its Conflicting Effects on Representative Government,” asks: what is partisan competition, and how does it influence the strategic incentives and capacity of representative government? In addition to describing the causes of partisan competition, he explores its effects theoretically and empirically on interest groups’ use of ballot initiatives, legislative efficiency, and policy representation (i.e., the effect of public opinion on policy outcomes). With recourse to multilevel modeling techniques, he evaluates these ideas by comparing the experience of the American states from 1976-2010.

Inequality and Democratization: an Elite Competition Approach

The Department of Political Science is excited to announce that David Samuels, Distinguished McKnight University Professor of Political Science at the University of Minnesota, will present material from his co-authored book with Ben Ansells on Tuesday, April 1, 4-5:30pm in Anderson 216.

David Samuels specializes in democratization, Brazilian politics, Latin American politics, political parties and elections, and US-Latin American Relations.

He is the author of Presidents, Parties, and Prime Ministers (with Matthew Shugart) (Cambridge University Press, 2010), Ambition, Federalism, and Legislative Politics in Brazil (Cambridge University Press, 2003), and the co-editor of Decentralization and Democracy in Latin America (University of Notre Dame Press, 2004). His introductory undergraduate comparative politics textbook, Comparative Politics and country-casebook Case Studies in Comparative Politics, are available from Pearson Higher Education. He is currently working on a book project entitled “Inequality and Democratization.”

Professor Samuels has published articles in the American Political Science Review, the American Journal of Political ScienceComparative Politics,Comparative Political StudiesLegislative Studies Quarterly, and the British Journal of Political Science, among others. He has received funding from the National Science Foundation (in 1996 and 1999) and the McKnight Foundation (in 2001), and was awarded Fulbright Fellowships in 2004 and 2013. He currently serves as co-editor of Comparative Political Studies.

For more information, visit his website.

UF Represented in Baton Rouge

Undergraduate major Michelle Asuncion represented UF at the 22nd National conference of the National Association of African-American Studies and Affiliates, held in Baton Rouge, Louisiana on Feb 10-15. She presented a paper on Filipino culture of migration.

Graduate Student Socialization Series

On Friday some 30 graduate students attended the second session of the Department’s graduate student socialization series. Professors Amie Kreppel, Ben Smith and Leo Villalon spoke and answered questions on “How to Write and Win Grants.”